From left to right: Sarah E Downey, Debbie Fischer, Deanna Monaghan, Gabriel Bouchard-Phillips & Michelle Savoy

Five notable alumni will be recognized by the Telfer School of Management by receiving Trudeau medalsthe Young Achiever's Award and the Dean's Philos Award for their outstanding contributions to the world of business, healthcare, community and their alma mater at the 2018 Gala of Excellence. The Gala will be held at the Shaw Centre on Saturday, October 20, 2018 and this event also serves as an opportunity to collectively celebrate the Telfer School and highlight the graduation anniversary of the classes of 1968, 1978, 1993 and 2008.

Trudeau Medals

Sarah E Downey, MHA 1992 

Sarah Downey joined Michael Garron Hospital (formerly Toronto East General Hospital) as President and CEO in 2015. Prior to joining MGH, Sarah held senior leadership positions at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) and at University Health Network’s Princess Margaret Hospital. She has worked in hospitals for 25 years since graduating with a Masters in Health Administration from The Telfer School of Management at the University of Ottawa. Sarah has been fortunate to lead clinical programs, support service operations, and major redevelopment projects in her career. Sarah is also the President of the uOttawa Toronto Regional Alumni Council.

Debbie Fischer, MHA 1979

Debbie Fischer has held senior leadership positions in professional consulting services, in health care and government. She is currently an Executive Associate with KPMG where she consults on organizational change and large-scale system transformation in health care and public sectors. Debbie serves on several boards including the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the Ontario Education Collaborative Marketplace, North York General Hospital, the Health Care Advisory Council of GS1, Prodemnity as well as Joule, a Canadian Medical Association subsidiary.

Deanna Monaghan, BCom 1983

Deanna Monaghan was admitted to EY’s partnership in 1994 and has served as Ottawa’s Managing Partner for over eleven years. She is also the firm’s National Leader for Government & Public Sector Assurance Services and the Market Leader for the Ottawa Assurance practice. Deanna is highly active in the volunteer community and serves as a member of the Board of Governors of the University of Ottawa and is Chair of the Audit Committee and as a member of the Board of Governors for the University of Ottawa. She is also the Chair of the Audit Committee for the Royal Ottawa Foundation for Mental Health.

The Young Achiever's Award

Gabriel Bouchard-Phillips, BCom 2005

Gabriel Bouchard-Phillips is a Partner and Portfolio Manager at Van Berkom and Associates, a Montreal-based investment firm focused exclusively on managing portfolios of small-capitalization (“small cap”) equities on behalf of large North American pension funds, corporations, foundations and endowment funds. As Portfolio Manager for the Canadian Small-Cap Equities Team he is responsible for conducting fundamental research on a broad spectrum of the Canadian small-cap market. Prior to joining Van Berkom and Associates in 2011, Gabriel was an Analyst, Canadian Equities for the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (“CMHC”) Investments and Pension Fund Division (2008-2011)

The Dean's Philos Award

Michelle Savoy, BAdm 1982

Michelle Savoy is President of Quill Ridge Capital.  She is an active philanthropist and has served on the Big Brother Big Sisters Council of Champions and on the Board of the Invest in Kids Foundation; she has also co-chaired several events raising money for teen mental health.  Michelle is currently supporting Women’s Rights within Human Rights Watch (HRW) and is very active with United Way supporting 'Women United'.  Michelle is a SheEO activator and is the founder of GROW (Giving Ring of Women), a group of women dedicated to learning about philanthropy, helping women across Canada gain economic self-sufficiency, and creating a community of givers.