Skip to main content
 
 
 
 
people walking and talking

Contribute to a greener tomorrow with your Master of Science in Management.

MSc MGT

MSc in
Management


Next info session in:
0 months, 0 days, 0 hours.
Register

Ottawa from above
A Master of Science in Management that matches your ambitions.

Choose between the one-year research project, the research project with co-op, or the two-year thesis options. The Telfer MSc MGT builds on your undergraduate experience to sharpen your management knowledge and position you as a top candidate for a PhD or the management career you deserve. 

Shape your future.

 

SIGN UP FOR THE NEXT INFO SESSION

Program Concentrations

Choose one of our five MSc in Management concentrations and work with world-leading researchers to become an expert in a highly coveted field.

Accounting icon

Accounting

Through extensive and rigorous training in a variety of analytical techniques and in-depth coverage of cutting-edge, practice-oriented research, you will gain the expertise needed to excel in numerous business positions. If your objective is to work in the field of accounting in positions such as Financial Manager, Financial Advisor, Business Analyst, or Management Analyst or to pursue a PhD in Accounting in a world-renowned business school, this is the concentration for you.  

Entrepreneurship icon

Entrepreneurship

Develop essential entrepreneurial competencies that satisfy the increasing interest and engagement in entrepreneurial activity in Canada. These include analytical skills, the ability to assess complex materials and data, problem-solving, and the application of knowledge. This concentration promotes entrepreneurial thinking and competencies across all sizes and types of organizations which include startups, family businesses and consulting firms. Become an enabler of social and economic change, whether you decide to pursue applied or research-intensive careers.

Finance icon

Finance

Gain advanced knowledge and analytical skills to pursue a variety of financial career paths (asset management, risk management, investment banking, commercial banking, derivatives, private equity/venture capital, consultancy, financial planning, insurance), prepare for financial designations, such as the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA), or pursue a PhD in Finance in a world-renowned business school. 

Innovation icon

Innovation Management

Discover the importance of innovation practices in business, social enterprise, and policymaking. This concentration fosters the development of five innovation management competencies linked to high performance across various settings, including finding opportunities, commercializing opportunities, managing diverse teams for innovation, leveraging innovation ecosystems, and leadership for innovation. Pursue careers either as a leader within the increasingly innovation-driven economy or follow an academic career path by pursuing a PhD in a top business school. 

HR/OB icon

Organizational Behaviour and Human Resources (OBHR)

Acquire the advanced research and analytical skills expected of HR professionals holding more senior professional designations, such as the Certified Human Resources Leader (CHRL) and Certified Human Resources Executive (CHRE) designations in Ontario. Become uniquely positioned to pursue an HR career in which you develop value-added practices in staffing, training and development, and/or employee relations using the latest research on practices that support employee health and well-being. Or choose to explore an academic career path by continuing your research training in a world class PhD program. 

Why the Telfer MSc in Management?

Our Master of Science in management doesn't require any professional work experience to apply. This means you can begin to obtain your MSc MGT credentials right after your four-year undergraduate degree.

Our three program options allow you to choose the best path towards your career goals. Our one-year research project option enhances your expertise in a sphere of management. Our research project option with co-op provides you with relevant work experience to attain senior-level positions faster, and our two-year thesis option propels you on your academic research journey.

Our professors, who are internationally recognized for their cutting-edge research and leadership, guide your journey of discovery. Many of them hold prestigious fellowships, professorships and research chairs; serve as editors and reviewers for leading international journals and granting agencies; advise companies, and influence governmental policies. 

Gain hands-on experience through the various experiential learning opportunities embedded in the curriculum. Meet and network with experts from academic institutions, organizations, and government entities at our research seminar series. Participate in thesis competitions and expand your network at internationally recognized conferences. Develop your problem-solving skills through hands-on manipulation and analysis of data. Lastly, expand your teaching and research skills with paid teaching or research assistant positions.

Our five program concentrations in Accounting, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Innovation Management and OBHR equip you with the skills and expertise our future requires from management professionals and academics to make our country and our world greener, healthier, happier and wealthier.

Studying in the capital of Canada provides you with several exciting advantages, including direct access to a wealth of valuable policy data, easy reach of prominent political and government decision-makers, and attractive opportunities with key government departments, influential public-sector organizations, and successful private firms.

Whether you're a returning BCom alumni or are new to Telfer Nation, we support you in this journey from the day you apply to beyond graduation. We do this by giving you access to our research office, our academic networks and over 30,000 alumni who we support through our many conferences, leadership workshops, and events across the globe.
People Walking in Hallway

Which Telfer MSc program is right for you?

Position yourself as a top candidate for the PhD with our two-year thesis option, kickstart your professional journey in one year with our research project option or earn relevant work experience with our research project and co-op option.

MSc MGT - Research Project (One-year)

Enter the workforce with the experience to apply research to improve organizational success with the one-year MSc program. 

Units:
30 units (8x 3-unit courses + 6-unit Research Project)
Duration:
12 months
Schedule:
Daytime classes
Offer:
Classes in English only
Minimum work experience requirement:
None
Testing requirement:
GMAT or GRE
+ Expand

MSc MGT - Research Project with Co-op

Start to inform management decision-making before you graduate by participating in meaningful work experiences in the two-year co-op and research project program.

Units:
30 units (8x 3-unit courses + 6-unit Research Project)
Duration:
20 months
Schedule:
Daytime classes / 2 consecutive co-op work terms
Offer:
Classes in English only
Minimum work experience requirement:
None
Testing requirement:
GMAT or GRE
+ Expand

MSc MGT - Thesis (two-year)

Designed for those who want to obtain their PhD, become a university professor, or pursue a career in research in the public or private sectors, this two-year program teaches you how to conduct research publishable in scientific journals. 

Units:
21 units (7x 3-unit courses + the thesis)
Duration:
24 months
Schedule:
Daytime classes
Offer:
Classes in English only
Minimum work experience requirement:
None
Testing requirement:
GMAT or GRE
+ Expand

MSc In Health Systems - Thesis (two-year)

The two-year MSc HS with thesis allows students to pursue research that will impact the quality of health care in Canada and globally for years to come.

Units:
30 units (12 course units / 6-unit Health Systems Research Internship / 12 units for the thesis)
Duration:
24 months
Schedule:
Daytime classes
Offer:
Classes in English only
Minimum work experience requirement:
None
Testing requirement:
GMAT or GRE
+ Expand

MSc In Health Systems - Research Project (one-year)

The MSc HS with RP is for students with an undergraduate degree who are interested in developing the knowledge necessary for a management career in health in just one year.

Units:
30 units (24 course-units / 6-unit research project)
Duration:
12 months
Schedule:
Daytime Classes
Offer:
Classes in English only
Minimum work experience requirement:
None
Testing requirement:
GMAT or GRE
+ Expand

Get Started

Now that you’ve seen our program options, find out which one is your best match:

Triple Crown Accreditation

The Telfer School of Management is one of only 2 business schools in Canada and within the top 1% of business schools in the world to have achieved the triple crown of accreditations, the highest standards of international accreditations awarded to MBA programs by the most demanding global organizations:

People Walking in Hallway

Frequently Asked Questions

A master’s in management typically provides general knowledge and skills to be a more effective manager. It is meant for people who have not completed an undergraduate degree in management or business administration. In contrast, the MSc MGT provides advanced applied research skills to help organizations solve complex problems. The MSc in MGT is suitable for people with many educational backgrounds, including one in management or business administration. 

It is best to apply to only one Telfer program. Otherwise, you risk giving the impression that you do not know what you want to do. If you are not sure which program to apply for, we encourage you to speak to one of our recruiters who will be able to guide you in your decision. 

If you completed (or are on your way to completing) your BCom degree at the Telfer School of Management and have a CGPA equal to or above 8.0 at the time of your application, you are not required to write the GMAT or the GRE. 

Similarly, if you completed your undergraduate degree in another faculty at the University of Ottawa or at another Canadian university with a CGPA equal to or above 8.5 at the time of your application, you are not required to write the GMAT or the GRE. 

If you do not meet the criteria stated above, you must take the GMAT or GRE test.  

Graduate management admission tests are the most used and reliable indicator of academic success in graduate business degree programs. As a triple-crown accredited school, we must ensure that our applicants get a competitive score on the GMAT or GRE to be accepted into the program. 

Yes! However, if you are an international student, you must assume that your co-op work placements will not be in the government sector in Ottawa. The federal government is the largest employer in Ottawa and requires students to have security clearances. This requirement is difficult for international students to obtain on time. As an international student, you can apply to co-op placements in private companies in Ottawa and in other cities such as Toronto or Montreal. 

No. Although you can complete your research project under the supervision of a professor if the opportunity presents itself, you can also choose to complete one of the predetermined research projects supervised by your concentration’s research project coordinator. 

building

A better tomorrow is waiting for you.
Ready to start your MSc MGT?

Apply Now

© 2021 Telfer School of Management, University of Ottawa
Policies  |  Emergency Info

alert icon
uoAlert

Passer au contenu principal
 
 
 
 
people walking and talking

Contribuez à un avenir plus vert avec une maîtrise ès sciences en gestion.

M.Sc. Gestion

MAÎTRISE ÈS
SCIENCE EN GESTION


Prochaine séance d'info :

0 mois, 0 jours, 0 heures.
Inscrivez-vous

Ottawa from above
Une maîtrise ès sciences en gestion à la hauteur de vos ambitions.

Trois options s’offrent à vous : la M.Sc. avec projet de recherche (un an), avec projet de recherche et régime d’enseignement coopératif et avec thèse (deux ans). La maîtrise ès sciences en gestion de l’École de gestion Telfer vous amène à approfondir les connaissances acquises au niveau du baccalauréat et fait de vous un candidat ou une candidate de premier choix pour le doctorat ou la carrière en gestion que vous méritez.

Façonnez votre avenir.

 

inscrivez-vous à la prochaine séance D'INFormation  

Concentrations

La maîtrise ès sciences en gestion se décline en cinq concentrations qui vous amènent à travailler avec des chercheurs et chercheuses de calibre mondial et à développer une expertise dans un domaine connaissant une forte demande. 

Accounting icon

Comptabilité

Grâce à une formation exhaustive et rigoureuse portant sur tout un éventail de techniques analytiques et une exploration approfondie de la recherche de pointe axée sur la pratique, vous acquerrez l’expertise nécessaire pour exceller dans une foule de postes en affaires. Voilà la concentration idéale si votre objectif est de travailler en comptabilité dans le domaine de la gestion financière, du conseil financier, de l’analyse d’affaires ou de l’analyse de la gestion, ou encore de poursuivre un doctorat en comptabilité dans une école de gestion de renommée mondiale. 

Entrepreneurship icon

Entrepreneuriat

Développez les compétences essentielles (compétences analytiques, capacité à évaluer des documents et des données complexes, à résoudre des problèmes et à appliquer des connaissances) pour répondre à l’intérêt croissant envers l’activité entrepreneuriale au Canada. Cette concentration favorise la pensée et les compétences entrepreneuriales dans toutes les tailles et tous les types d'organisations, y compris les entreprises en démarrage, les entreprises familiales et les sociétés de conseil. Que vous optiez pour la pratique ou la recherche, vous deviendrez à coup sûr un moteur de changement social et économique.  

Finance icon

Finance

Acquérez des connaissances et des compétences analytiques avancées en vue de poursuivre tout un éventail de carrières en finance (gestion d’actifs, gestion de risques, services bancaires d’investissement, services bancaires commerciaux, produits dérivés, capital-investissement et capital de risque, conseil, planification financière, assurance), de vous préparer à l’obtention de titres financiers comme celui d’analyste financier agréé (CFA) ou de poursuivre un doctorat en finance dans une école de gestion de renommée mondiale.  

Innovation icon

Gestion de l’innovation

Découvrez l’importance des pratiques en matière d’innovation pour le domaine des affaires, les entreprises à vocation sociale et l’élaboration de politiques. Cette concentration favorise le développement de cinq compétences en gestion de l’innovation favorisant un rendement élevé dans divers contextes, dont la recherche d’occasions, l’exploitation commerciale des possibilités, la gestion d’équipes diversifiées vouées à l’innovation, l’exploitation des écosystèmes d’innovation et l’exercice d’un leadership favorable à l’innovation. Parfait pour vous positionner comme leader dans une économie de plus en plus axée sur l’innovation, ou pour préparer un doctorat dans une école de gestion de premier plan en vue d’une carrière universitaire.  

HR/OB icon

Gestion des ressources humaines et comportements organisationnels (GRHCO)

Acquérez les compétences avancées en recherche et en analyse que l’on attend des professionnelles et professionnels des ressources humaines chevronnés détenant des titres comme Leader en ressources humaines agréé (L.R.H.A.) ou Cadre principal en ressources humaines agréé (C.P.R.H.A.) en Ontario. Choisissez un parcours qui vous démarquera et vous permettra de développer des méthodes à valeur ajoutée en matière de recrutement, de formation, de perfectionnement ou de relations avec le personnel, en misant sur les recherches les plus récentes en matière de santé et de bien-être du personnel. Vous rêvez plutôt d’une carrière universitaire? Poursuivez alors votre formation en recherche dans un programme de doctorat de calibre mondial.

Pourquoi choisir la M.Sc. en gestion à Telfer?

 Il n’est pas nécessaire de posséder une expérience de travail pour faire une demande d’admission à la maîtrise ès sciences en gestion. Cela signifie que vous pouvez commencer cette formation tout de suite après votre baccalauréat de quatre ans. 

Le programme vous donne le choix entre trois options en fonction de vos objectifs de carrière. L’option projet de recherche (un an) renforce votre expertise dans un domaine de la gestion. L’option projet de recherche avec régime d’enseignement coopératif vous offre une expérience de travail pertinente en vue d’accéder rapidement à des postes séniors. Et finalement, l’option thèse (deux ans) vous propulse sur la voie de la recherche universitaire.

Notre corps professoral est composé de chefs de file reconnus internationalement pour leurs travaux d’avant-garde. Ce sont eux qui vous guideront dans votre parcours d’apprentissage. Un grand nombre d’entre eux détiennent des bourses de recherche, des bourses professorales et des chaires de recherche prestigieuses, siègent au comité de lecture ou de rédaction de revues spécialisées réputées ou aux comités d’évaluation des organismes subventionnaires, conseillent des entreprises ou influencent les politiques gouvernementales.  

Profitez d’une expérience pratique grâce à diverses occasions d’apprentissage par l'expérience qui font partie intégrante du programme. Rencontrez des spécialistes provenant d’établissements universitaires, d’organisations et d’entités gouvernementales dans le cadre de notre série de séminaires sur la recherche. Participez à des concours de thèse et élargissez votre réseau professionnel en assistant à des conférences d’envergure internationale. Renforcez vos compétences en résolution de problèmes au moyen d’exercices pratiques d’analyse de données. Enfin, développez vos compétences en enseignement et en recherche en occupant des postes d’assistant ou assistante de recherche ou d’enseignement rémunérés. 

Les cinq concentrations du programme (comptabilité, entrepreneuriat, finance, gestion de l’innovation et gestion des ressources humaines et comportements organisationnels (GRHCO)) vous doteront des compétences et de l’expertise dont les professionnels, professionnelles, chercheurs et chercheuses en gestion de l’avenir ont besoin pour créer un monde plus vert, plus en santé, plus heureux et plus prospère au Canada et ailleurs.

Il y a plusieurs avantages à étudier dans la capitale du Canada : l’accès direct à une profusion de données sur les politiques, la proximité des principaux décideurs et décideuses du milieu politique et gouvernemental et des possibilités attrayantes au sein de ministères clés, d’organisations influentes du secteur public et d’entreprises privées prospères, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns. 

Que vous veniez de terminer votre baccalauréat en sciences commerciales ou que vous fassiez votre entrée dans la Telfer Nation, vous pouvez compter sur le soutien de toute une communauté, de votre demande d’admission à votre collation des grades, et au-delà. En effet, nous vous donnons accès au bureau de la recherche, aux réseaux universitaires et à plus de 30 000 diplômés et diplômées que nous soutenons grâce à d’innombrables conférences, des ateliers et des activités partout dans le monde.
People Walking in Hallway

Quel programme de M.Sc. en gestion Telfer est fait pour vous?

Préparez une solide candidature au doctorat avec l’option thèse (deux ans), démarrez votre carrière du bon pied avec l’option projet de recherche (un an) ou acquérez une précieuse expérience de travail avec l’option projet de recherche et régime coop.

M.Sc. en gestion, option projet de recherche (un an)

En choisissant cette option d’un an, vous entrerez sur le marché du travail avec une avec l'expérience nécessaire pour appliquer la recherche à l'amélioration de la réussite organisationnelle.

CRÉDITS :
30 crédits (8 cours de 3 crédits + projet de recherche de 6 crédits)
DURÉE :
12 mois
HORAIRE :
Cours de jour
OFFRE :
Cours en anglais uniquement
EXPÉRIENCE PROFESSIONNELLE MINIMALE REQUISE :
Aucune
TEST REQUIS :
GMAT ou GRE
+ Lire la suite

M.Sc. en gestion, option projet de recherche avec régime coop 

Jouez un rôle dans les décisions de gestion avant même d’avoir obtenu votre diplôme en occupant des emplois valorisants dans le cadre de l’option projet de recherche avec régime d’enseignement coopératif.

CRÉDITS :
30 crédits (8 cours de 3 crédits + 6 crédits pour le projet de recherche)
DURÉE :
20 mois
HORAIRE :
Cours de jour, 2 stages de travail consécutifs
OFFRE :
Cours en anglais uniquement
EXPÉRIENCE PROFESSIONNELLE MINIMALE REQUISE :
Aucune
TEST REQUIS :
GMAT ou GRE
+ Lire la suite

M.Sc. en gestion, option thèse (deux ans)

Conçu pour ceux et celles qui souhaitent poursuivre un doctorat, enseigner ou faire carrière en recherche dans le secteur public ou privé, ce cheminement de deux ans vous apprendra à mener des travaux dignes d’être publiés dans des revues scientifiques.

CRÉDITS :
21 crédits (7 cours de 3 crédits + thèse)
DURÉE :
24 mois
HORAIRE :
Cours de jour
OFFRE :
Cours en anglais uniquement
EXPÉRIENCE PROFESSIONNELLE MINIMALE REQUISE :
Aucune
TEST REQUIS :
GMAT ou GRE
+ Lire la suite

M.Sc. en systèmes de santé, option thèse (deux ans)

L’option thèse de la maîtrise ès sciences en systèmes de santé vous permet de mener des travaux de recherche qui influenceront la qualité des soins de santé au Canada et dans le reste du monde pour les années à venir.

CRÉDITS :
30 crédits (12 crédits de cours + 6 crédits de stage de recherche sur les systèmes de santé + 12 crédits pour la thèse)
DURÉE :
24 mois
HORAIRE :
Cours de jour
OFFRE :
Cours en anglais uniquement
EXPÉRIENCE PROFESSIONNELLE MINIMALE REQUISE :
Aucune
TEST REQUIS :
GMAT ou GRE
+ Lire la suite

M.Sc. en systèmes de santé, option projet de recherche (un an)

L’option projet de recherche de la maîtrise ès sciences en systèmes de santé s’adresse aux titulaires d’un baccalauréat qui souhaitent acquérir en un an les connaissances nécessaires pour faire carrière en gestion dans le milieu de la santé.

CRÉDITS :
30 crédits (24 crédits de cours + 6 crédits pour le projet de recherche)
DURÉE :
12 mois
HORAIRE :
Cours de jour
OFFRE :
Cours en anglais uniquement
EXPÉRIENCE PROFESSIONNELLE MINIMALE REQUISE :
Aucune
TEST REQUIS :
GMAT ou GRE
+ Lire la suite

Quelle option est faite pour vous? 

Maintenant que vous avez vu nos différentes options de programme, découvrez celle qui correspond le mieux à vos besoins :

La triple couronne des agréments

Seul 1 % des écoles de gestion du monde ont obtenu la « triple couronne » des agréments et l’École de gestion Telfer est un des deux établissements du Canada qui en font partie. Elle satisfait donc aux normes les plus élevées des organismes d’agrément internationaux les plus exigeants :

People Walking in Hallway

Foire aux questions

Une maîtrise en gestion confère généralement des connaissances et des compétences générales pour devenir un gestionnaire plus efficace. Elle s'adresse aux personnes qui n'ont pas obtenu de diplôme de premier cycle en gestion ou en administration des affaires. En revanche, la maîtrise ès sciences en gestion (M.Sc. en gestion) fournit des compétences avancées en recherche appliquée pour aider les organisations à résoudre des problèmes complexes. Cette maîtrise est destinée à ceux qui ont fait des études notamment en gestion ou en administration des affaires. 

Il est préférable de postuler qu’à un seul programme à Telfer. Autrement, vous risquez de donner l'impression que vous ne savez pas ce que vous voulez faire. Si vous hésitez entre plusieurs programmes, nous vous encourageons à parler à un membre de notre équipe de recrutement qui sera en mesure de vous guider dans votre décision. 

Si vous avez obtenu (ou êtes sur le point d'obtenir) votre diplôme de B.Com. à l'École de gestion Telfer et que vous avez une moyenne pondérée cumulative égale ou supérieure à 8,0 au moment de votre demande, vous n'êtes pas requis de rédiger le GMAT ou le GRE. 

De même, si vous avez obtenu votre diplôme de premier cycle dans une autre faculté de l'Université d'Ottawa ou dans une autre université canadienne avec une moyenne pondérée cumulative égale ou supérieure à 8,5 au moment de votre demande d'admission, vous n'êtes pas requis de passer le GMAT ou le GRE. 

Cependant, si vous ne répondez pas aux critères énoncés ci-dessus, vous devez passer l'un des tests d'admission suivants : le GMAT ou le GRE.   

Les tests d'admission aux études supérieures en gestion sont les indicateurs les plus utilisés et les plus fiables de la réussite académique dans les programmes d'études supérieures en gestion. En tant qu'école accréditée triple couronne, nous devons nous assurer que nos candidats obtiennent des résultats compétitifs au GMAT ou au GRE pour être acceptés dans l'un de nos programmes.  

Oui! Cependant, si vous êtes un étudiant international, vous devez présumer que vos stages coopératifs ne se feront pas dans le secteur gouvernemental à Ottawa. Le gouvernement fédéral est le plus gros employeur d'Ottawa et exige que les étudiants aient une côte de sécurité. Cette exigence est difficile à obtenir à temps pour les étudiants internationaux. En revanche, vous pouvez postuler à des stages coopératifs dans des entreprises privées à Ottawa et dans d'autres villes comme Toronto ou Montréal. 

Non. Bien que vous puissiez réaliser votre projet de recherche sous la supervision d'un professeur si cette opportunité se présente, vous pouvez également choisir de compléter l'un des projets de recherche prédéterminés et supervisés par le coordinateur de votre concentration.

building

Un avenir meilleur vous attend.
Et ça commence par une M.Sc. en gestion.

FAITES VOTRE DEMANDE DÈS MAINTENANT

© 2022 École de gestion Telfer, Université d'Ottawa
Politiques  |  Urgences

alert icon
uoAlert