Jean Desgagné, Mimi Lowi-Young, Emmanuel Florakas, Mark Cullen

Four remarkable alumni were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the world of business, the community and their alma mater at the 2009 Telfer School of Management Alumni Association Gala of Excellence. The gala was held at the Ottawa Marriot Hotel on September 26, 2009, during the University of Ottawa’s Homecoming celebrations.

The Trudeau Medal

Established in 1989 in honour of Reverend Father Roland Trudeau, OMI, former director of the University's Commerce department from 1950 to 1965, the Trudeau Medal is the highest honour given by the Telfer School of Management to its alumni.

The 2009 recipients are:

Mark Cullen, BAdm 1963
Director, British Columbia Ferry Services Inc.

Jean Desgagné, BCom 1986
Senior Vice President, Trading Risk Services, TD Bank Financial Group.

Young Achiever Award

The Young Achiever's award was created to honour the individuals (under 40) who have been able to achieve greatness in their lives within an exceptional period of time.
The recipient this year is:

Emmanuel Florakas, BCom 1995, IMBA 1997
Co-Founder, President and CFO of Lixar I.T. Inc.

The Dean's Philos Award

The Dean’s Philos Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding philanthropic achievement and social commitment.

The recipient this year is:

Mimi Lowi-Young, MHA 1981, Certificate in Business Administration 1988 
Chief Executive Officer, Local Health Integration Network

Homecoming 2009

40th Anniversary