Skip to main content

The 2023 Better Canada Youth Forum Happier

Join a national youth dialogue to shape the future for a better Canada

Date & Time

March 6, 2023


This is a hybrid event.
In person location: Telfer School of Management
Desmarais Building, 4th floor
Camille Villeneuve Room (DMS 4101)
55 Laurier Avenue East
Ottawa, Ontario

To receive the online event link, please indicate that you are registering to the "ONLINE" event while filling out the registration page.


Geneviève Séguin

Food and Drinks

A brown bag lunch will be served at the in person event

Dress code

Business casual

Better Canada Youth Forum Banner

A better future starts with Canada’s youth. The day before business leaders, economists and government officials meet to review Canada’s first report card on progress towards a better future, youth from coast to coast will gather to give their input on what a better Canada means to them. 

Aligned with Telfer’s Vision for a Better Canada, this national youth forum will convene post-secondary students from across Canada.  You are invited to join a bilingual dialogue on what factors and strategies will help shape a better Canada. Participants will be able to join and contribute either in person or online. Telfer is working with national youth partner AIESEC Canada to bring together student leaders from over 25 universities for this hybrid format event.   

Register here:

In person Online

The Telfer School of Management at the University of Ottawa is committed to building a better Canada, and is a research partner for the Coalition for a Better Future.  On March 6, Telfer will convene a national youth dialogue in conjunction with the imminent launch of the Coalition’s latest Scorecard on Canada's Progress.  This inaugural Better Canada Youth Forum will connect business leaders with post-secondary student leaders from across Canada (25+ universities and other institutes) to discuss how to continue building a better Canada and a better future.  

Discussions will evaluate key metrics that determine Canada’s success and how youth can shape their own future and build a better Canada. Dialogue will centre on six themes and three central goals: winning globally, living better, and growing sustainably.  


• 9:45 a.m. to 10 a.m. Registration and virtual event space start-up 
• 10 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.: Hybrid Introductory Panel on Canada’s Way Forward 
• 10:30 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.: Overview of the Scorecard’s Metrics by the Telfer Research Team 
• 10:45 a.m. to 12 p.m.: Facilitated Breakout Student Dialogue on Shaping Our Future (in-person and online audiences)
• 12 p.m: Online Event Ends
• 12 p.m. to 1 p.m.: Lunch and Networking Session for In-Person Participants 


Dean Stéphane Brutus Headshot

Dean Brutus obtained his PhD in Industrial-Organizational Psychology from Bowling Green State University. He also completed a post-doctoral fellowship at the Center of Creative Leadership (CCL) in Greensboro, North Carolina. At Concordia University, Dr. Brutus served as Dean (Interim), Associate Dean Graduate Professional Programs, and Chair of the Management Department. He was also Director of Bell Research Center for Business Process Innovation.

The Honourable Anne McLellan headshot

Ms. McLellan served four terms as the Liberal MP for Edmonton Centre, during which time she was deputy prime minister of Canada and minister of public safety and emergency preparedness, minister of health, minister of justice and attorney general of Canada, and minister of natural resources.  

 Ms. McLellan is co-chair of the Coalition for a Better Future, a diverse group of over 130 organizations focusing on sustainable, inclusive economic growth.   

 In July 2009, Ms. McLellan was appointed an officer of the Order of Canada and in October 2013, she received the Alberta Order of Excellence.  

 From 1980 to 1992, Ms. McLellan was a professor in the University of Alberta’s Faculty of Law, where she served as both associate dean (1985–1987) and acting dean (1991–1992). She holds a Bachelor of Arts and a law degree from Dalhousie University and a Master of Laws from King’s College, University of London. 

The Honourable Lisa Raitt headshot

Prior to her current role with CIBC Capital Markets, the Honourable Lisa Raitt was the president and CEO of the Toronto Port Authority. She was elected to the House of Commons in 2008 and went on to hold three senior cabinet portfolios: minister of natural resources, minister of labour and minister of transport. Most recently, she was the deputy leader of the Official Opposition and the Conservative Party of Canada.   

 Ms. Raitt holds a Bachelor of Science from St. Francis Xavier University and a master’s in chemistry from the University of Guelph. She received an LLB from  Osgoode Hall Law School and was called to the Ontario bar in 1998. In 2020, she was named a Woodrow Wilson Center Global Fellow of the Canada Institute. 

Robert Asselin headshot

Robert leads the policy team and the Council’s work on economic and fiscal policy. He has written extensively on innovation and industrial policy. Robert brings more than 10 years of experience in providing policy advice to government, including in roles as Policy and Budget Director to Canada’s Finance Minister and as Advisor to Prime Ministers Paul Martin and Justin Trudeau. Prior to joining the Council, he spent two years at BlackBerry as Senior Global Director, Public Policy. Robert also spent nearly a decade in academia as Associate Director of the Graduate School of Public and International Affairs at the University of Ottawa and as Visiting Public Policy Scholar at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C. He continues to serve as a Fellow at the University of Toronto’s Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy and at the Public Policy Forum. 

Justine Hendricks headshot

Justine Hendricks took on the role of president and CEO of Farm Credit Canada this January. She has a history of working in the financial services sector and has been a critical member of the Canadian export community since 2006, when she started her career with Export Development Canada (EDC). She took on the role of Senior Vice-President, Sustainable Business and Enablement in 2019, and added the role of Chief Corporate Sustainability Officer (CCSO) in May 2021. Hendricks has worked closely with EDC’s banking partners and is a key component to the business development group. She received an R. Trudeau Medal in 2017 from the Telfer School of Management in recognition of her leadership, initiative and contributions to the business world. 

This event is organized in partnership with:

Coalition for a Better Future Bilingual Logo
Business Council of Canada English Logo





We are participating in #SDGWeekCanada March 6-10! We’re proud to be one of the many institutions across Canada developing #SustainableDevelopment programming, which includes this event, for this campaign. 

SDG Week Logo

© 2024 Telfer School of Management, University of Ottawa
Policies  |  Emergency Info

alert icon