Skip to main content

Celebrating our PhD Student Accomplishments in 2018-2019

The Telfer School of Management assembled on May 9th for the annual end-of-year PhD celebration, to recognize the hard work and accomplishments of all our doctoral students over the year. Since the launch of the PhD program in 2016, three cohorts of outstanding doctoral students have joined the Telfer School.

“The inauguration of the PhD program was a significant milestone for the Telfer School, as it welcomes the best and brightest of students, and raises the bar for the school to aspire to be a top business school in Canada,” said Dean François Julien.

The event also celebrated the recipients of the 2018-2019 Telfer PhD Awards competition. Here are our award winning students:

John Duncan and Deb Cross Award

The John Duncan and Deb Cross Award recognizes the quality and impact of a student’s publication in a peer-reviewed journal. The 2018-2019 recipient was Alexander Chung for his article entitled “Where the shoe pinches: Realizing dominant problems as an organizational social media business profile evolves” and published in the International Journal of Information Management.

PhD Engagement Award

The PhD Engagement Award recognizes an exemplary doctoral student who demonstrates continued initiative in applying for funding and scholarships, leadership and engagement in the PhD Program, academic success, and persistent research progress. The 2018-2019 recipient was Yanhong Li.

Other Achievements

Two of our PhD students were also recipients of the provincial Ontario Graduate Scholarship. Well done Alexander Chung and Nicolas Legendre!

Congratulations to all our PhD students for another excellent academic year!

“The doctoral program is crucial for the Telfer School. These young and bright minds challenge our professors with intellectual discussions and innovative ideas,” concluded Wojtek Michalowski, Vice-Dean (Research).

Learn more about our graduate student awards.

Students chattingTwo PhD studentsStudents and professors celebrate

the cake

Students and professors

the winners